The Diocese

The Anglican Church in Paphos is part of the Diocese of Cyprus and the Gulf which covers Oman, Yemen, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, Iraq, and the whole of Cyprus.


The Diocese of Cyprus and the Gulf is part of the Province of the Episcopal Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East which was formed, in January 1976, from the former Archbishopric in Jerusalem. The Province is made up of four dioceses, the Diocese of Egypt with North Africa and the Horn of Africa which covers Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia, as well as Egypt itself; the Diocese of Iran and the Diocese of Jerusalem serving Palestine, Israel, the Lebanon, Jordan, and Syria as well as our own diocese of Cyprus and the Gulf.

The Diocese is also part of a Tripartite Diocesan Link between Cyprus and the Gulf, Exeter and Thika in Kenya. Bishop Clive Handford (then bishop of Cyprus and the Gulf), Bishop Michael Langrish and Bishop Gideon Githiga signed a Covenant in Exeter Cathedral during 2005, reaffirmed in St. Paul’s Cathedral Nicosia during Synod 2006 and further reaffirmed in Thika early September 2006.

Doing God, Doing Good from Diocese of Cyprus and the Gulf on Vimeo.

For more information about our diocese please visit